I promise I am not exaggerating. This is not just “another meatloaf” with ground beef/mince mixed together with some random Italian herbs. Oh no. This is so much more than that! THIS is made in the spirit of homemade Italian sausages. Have you ever made Italian sausages? I have. They taste amazing. They require speciality equipment to ground pork shoulder, electronic scales to get the exact amount of herbs and salt, and of course the sausage machine to pipe the sausage mixture into the casings. I don’t have all that equipment in my humble kitchen. But I’ve manage to recreate the flavours in this ridiculously delicious Italian meatloaf!

As I alluded to above, the seasonings for this meatloaf are akin to homemade Italian sausages. However, I make my meatloaf with a combination of beef and pork, rather than just pork which is what Italian sausages are made of. The pork adds juiciness, the beef is the main flavour base. 🙂 The crowning glory of this is the tomato sauce. Oh my. THIS is the key differentiating factor in this recipe. Most meatloaves are not made with a sauce. But there are 2 things that make this sauce seriously delicious: LOOK how juicy this meatloaf is! I use my secret tip to make this with bread soaked in grated onion rather than breadcrumbs. It’s the same technique I use for my Italian Meatballs that readers are raving about!

I know I rambled a bit, so here’s a quick recap of why I love this Italian meatloaf so much and why it is not like the usual: Have I convinced you yet that this is worth trying? 😉 – Nagi x

More meatloaf recipes

I love a good meatloaf!

Meatloaf – extra tasty, extra juicy, extra soft! Chicken Meatloaf Wellington with Sun Dried Tomatoes Meatloaf Cupcakes With Mashed Potato

  SaveSave SaveSave

Italian Meatloaf with Marinara Sauce - 60Italian Meatloaf with Marinara Sauce - 17Italian Meatloaf with Marinara Sauce - 64Italian Meatloaf with Marinara Sauce - 94Italian Meatloaf with Marinara Sauce - 4Italian Meatloaf with Marinara Sauce - 93